Metacognition

May 16, 2006

The topic of optimism and pessimism came up during a conversation with a friend.  And that thought stuck in my mind, and I think I came up with a reasoning as to why I've been feeling the way that I have.

I guess what had happened in a point in time was that I was either tired of making decisions, or there were too many of them to be made, that I decided to let whatever happen, happen.  And since I didn't try at all to alter the way things would turn out, fate, nature, God, whatever, went to work and so then naturally, I got "screwed over."  And after having that happen so many times, I started to just subconsciouly think everything sucks.  So once I started thinking like that, I guess I felt as though even if I try, it's not going to do any good.  I guess I was right to a certain degree; but it's mostly poor logic.  A matter bad luck.  Nothing permanent.  But even though I know that, I still cannot seem to break out of this mindframe.  Do I have a problem?  Most of you would like to say "yes," wouldn't you?

Leave a Reply

