Untitled 07

February 3, 2008

Today, I woke up at 11am. My roommate slept until about 12pm. Immediately after he woke up, he turned on his computer, and pretty much began the rest of his day– playing World of Warcraft. I will give him the benefit of the doubt and assume he started at 1pm. And I’ll take into consideration his lunch and dinner time, which may or may not have been an hour. Now, it’s 2:30am, and he is still playing the exact same video game. Let’s do the math, shall we?

1pm to 2:30am = 13.5 hours
13.5 hours – 2 hours = 11.5 hours

Do you see something wrong with this equation? No my friends, the math is right, and it is eleven and a half hours you are seeing. What’s so bad about his addiction to a digital world full of creatures and characters that you would find in a book like Lord of the Rings? My major quarrel with that god-forsaken game is that he talks to his cohort. Yes that’s right, he verbally communicates with others worldwide. So when I’m trying to study or do my homework, this guy is sitting there hours on end playing that piece of shit game, and sometimes while watching a movie on the side using his laptop. For the added experience, I have added a link to an audio file I recorded of my roommate talking on World of Warcraft. This was recorded during the typing of this blog post, and I took the liberty to cut some seconds in between his conversation, but the dialogue itself is in no way manipulated.  Take note of the annoying subtleties such as his heavy breathing and his laugh (where it sounds like, “heuh”).  I recorded slow dialogue unfortunately; but keep in mind they’re usually more annoying. I’m about to sleep soon, but rest assured, if I didn’t, he would probably still play until sunrise.

This blog was intended to be short, but as I typed it, more thoughts came forth and it seems that I cannot stop this rant. But alas, I must restrain myself from further bashing and complaining and save it for future posts.

One Response to “Untitled 07”


  1. […] of 2008 doesn’t sound to pleasing after reading what I wrote.  Lots of people problem, roommate problems.  But it got better after mid-February.    I tried surfing for the first time this […]


Leave a Reply

