Why Bother

February 18, 2008

Today I tried surfing. Naturally, I was terrible. Today I realized I’m stupid for trying. Naturally, I will probably keep trying, despite the incessant slaps on the face. Persistence not because it’s fun, but because there’s something to the whole process that makes it worthwhile, and worth remembering for similar future experiences. It’s too easy to simply say “don’t give up” about things like this. Afterall, I never know until I try. But what if I try multiple times, and it gets me no where? What if I try, and it seems like I’m making progress, but I’m really not? When exactly do I stop without completely wiping out? Maybe if I understood exactly how this is all coming along, I could make better decisions. Instead, I can never understand what goes on until something finally happens. What is it that I should do then if there’s no way in foretelling what the outcome is? “It’s a good ‘experience’ even if it doesn’t turn out the way you want; just be positive” and that load of crap. Still, I don’t know why I bother with this stuff. It’s not as easy as people make it out to be. Could be the beaches I choose. I always seem to choose the ones out of reach, although I sometimes I like to think otherwise.  Maybe if the waves could read this, then they would be more forgiving.

Leave a Reply

