Don’t Do Unto Others What Has Been Done to You

December 26, 2008

Let me just get to the core of today’s rant, and skip the small talk.  I will say though that for the most part, I don’t care what other people think of me, or what I look like.  But sometimes it just sucks.

I don’t know why everyone is being a bitch about the way I look.  I lost weight, I have facial hair, I’m growing.  Deal with it.  First, I get shit from my mom.  Being the kind of person she is, she tells me that I’m getting less attractive as I grow older.  Then yesterday, she tells me my face looks all dark, right after we take a family picture while I’m standing next to her.  I don’t know exactly what that means, but I just walked away after she said that.  Then throughout the night, one of my aunts keeps telling to eat more because I’m too skinny.  Yes, I did lose a few pounds, but by no means am I underweight.  I’m not anorexic.  I’m not unhealthy.  I don’t get sick because I don’t eat.  It’s in fact the opposite.  Statistically speaking, I have gotten sick much less now that I’m not overweight.  And to answer anyone else who is wondering the answer to how I got so “skinny” (although I don’t believe that’s quite the case), it’s called eating in moderation and running.  It’s really no big secret.
And lastly, for those who are unaware, I have a mustache.  It’s nothing big.  But according to my cousins it makes me look a pedophile and that I look like someone on America’s Most Wanted.  Ok, haha sure.  You got me.  You gave your opinion, everyone did.  I’m not mad about that.  What I am mad about is how they felt that because they’re family, they can be “brutally honest” and just kept bringing it up the whole night.  Don’t feed me that bullshit excuse for being a fucking asshole.  There’s different levels of honesty, and what they were giving me was not of the chart and was pretty much insulting me.  After they said that, I considered telling them off, telling them what I really think of them.  But I didn’t.  Why?  I really don’t know.  They would’ve deserved everything I would’ve said, but I guess I didn’t want to make a scene, and I also took into account the old saying:  “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”  So that’s pretty much what I did the rest of the night.  I kept to myself.  This is the reason why I don’t like to keep my family informed on what’s going on in my life.  They just like to pick apart my shit and give their opinions on things as though they mean something.

You might think I overreacted to this, but I don’t think so.  I’m not a poor sport.  I’m just not used to people not knowing when to stop being pricks.  So let this be the message you take away from this stupid rant:  if the person you’re sharing your opinion with is obviously not amused, then stop.  That is unless of course what you’re saying is important and not just comments on their appearance.  I don’t think I’m unnatractive like my mom told me, jokingly or not, or that my mustache makes me look ridiculous.  I think I look fine.

Leave a Reply

