Untitled 12

October 23, 2009

I haven’t liked a song this much in a while.   It’s like it gets better and better everytime I hear it.  Normally for songs I like, there’s one or two things that don’t sit too well with me, but this is absolutely flawless in my opinion.  Nice intro, catchy verses, clean transition into the solo, nice buildup, perfect dual-lead sound with the second part of the solo (with three guitars even), then again with a clean transition to the outro riff with the bass playing those two notes right before the guitar fades out (although it’s not in the video above).  the only thing I’d dock points off for is that I wish the song was longer.  But I guess it’s a good thing they left me wanting more.

Additionally, I really recommend listening to Sky Blue Sky from start to finish.  It’s fantastic.  Maybe it’s because this was the first Wilco album I listened to, but I think this is way better than Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.  It’s been called “dad-music” which I guess I can see why since it’s definitely pretty mellow music.  But it’s still catchy and thoughtful with a good balance of guitar.

Leave a Reply

