Pushin Forward Back

February 11, 2011

I recently took the initiative to get back in touch with my friend from college.

I was going to go into details and explain the entire back story of this to hopefully give you a clear understanding of where I’m coming from.  But upon further pondering, it’ll suffice to just explain what the hell happened.  I’m positive that any rational person will see the blindness in my friend that angers me.

In a nutshell, my friend (someone who I did really consider a relatively close friend) I tried to reach out to and meet up with for lunch is no longer my friend.  Reason:  she set a boundary for herself to not hang out with males one-on-one and to move forward with friendships (which includes cutting ties with friends she’s made in the past who were actually her friends and not mere aquaintances).

Do I really need to explain why this is just bat shit crazy?

When she told me this through a message on Facebook, I had to give myself a day to let it soak in and not immediately rush to respond with a tempting, “What the fuck kind of Kool-Aid have you been drinking?”  When I did finally respond, I tried to be as polite as I could, hoping she’d see the sincerity in my message and perhaps appeal to her sense of logic she seems to have suddenly lost from the time we last met.  But it did not happen.  She attempted to elaborate on my concern in her following reply, and stated that these new boundaries are not because she’d afraid she’d fall for a guy friend.  I can’t seem to explain this bullshit as eloquently as I hope, so I’ll just quote her:  “more for the purpose of creating a protective boundary that shows respect to my boyfriend/husband (as in, I’m not too worried about it because I know myself and what I want, and I’m very loyal, but I don’t want to cause the man I love to have any reason to doubt, and I want only him to share such special/intimate moments, so that we grow closer, rather than me getting closer to other guys).”  1.  I’m pretty sure her boyfriend has brainwashed her because she made him sound kind of psycho-obsessive the last time we met, and 2.  She didn’t address my argument against her idiotic “barriers” about how she’s forcing this relationship to work by literally boxing herself in and secluding herself from friends she has made/friends she could have made.  This is just such a backwards way of thinking.  It’s infuriating.

About a day or two after her last message, I get a notification that she is no longer my friend on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

