What A Fool Believes

August 14, 2013

I’ve found a place and have signed the lease. Now it’s just a matter of slowly moving my goods over to my new apartment. I’m pretty excited. I happen to come across this apartment of mine one Saturday by walking up and down each block in the neighborhood I wanted to live in. I called a bunch of places, and it just so happened that pretty much no one picked up. I pretty much called it quits for the day, and while I was starting to drive home, a guy calls me back. Eventually things sorted itself out, and the apartment turned out to be pretty nice. It was a little bit out of my range, but considering the niceness and size of the apartment, I figured it was a steal. There’s no dedicated parking spot (yet), but right now, the prospect of not dreading being woken up every (really, every) morning by my mother fucking, god damned, pieces of shit neighbors is well worth the inconvenience of walking/skateboarding back to my apartment if I park far. Aside from that, I’m really excited to finally have my own place. I’m not sure exactly how long I’ve fantasized about this day, but I know it goes back to at least college. I imagine it’ll be a little bit lonesome at times, but it’s not exactly something that’ll be foreign to me. In short, I think I’ve reached the peak of my freedom.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what I’m going to do with my travel plans lately. I’ve thought about how I would have already put in some careful thought and care into planning my trip abroad, and how I’ve done nothing but fantasize so far this year. This makes me kind of sad. But honestly, I’m really not sure where I want to go. I don’t really have a place I’m dying to go to like the last two years; and last year, I feel like I managed to cover a bunch of cities that I wanted to go to. Not only that, the cold weather doesn’t exactly make me want to travel to some of the destinations I’ve always thought about going to, such as the south of France. Or, maybe I’m looking at this all wrong. Maybe I should go to Australia or New Zealand, or somewhere in South America. I can’t seem to make up my mind, and it’s slowly discouraging me from planning a trip at all. Maybe my fallback will just be England. It’s not all that adventurous, but it’s still somewhere that’s not here.

Leave a Reply

