Cured of Youth

March 26, 2014

I’ve neglected my blog for a couple of months now, but it doesn’t seem that way. It’s hard to believe that my last post was in January. Since then, I feel like much has happened, but nothing that compelled me to pour my thoughts and feelings into a blog post. What saddens me is that I’m pretty sure I’ll see the demise of this blog by the end of the year. It could be that I’m finally doing enough interesting shit with my life such that no one thing is worth blogging about. In that sense, it’s not so bad. It’s progress. I hope that’s the case. Or perhaps what I’m witnessing is a shift in the way my mind processes things. Maybe I’m not prone to as much erratic thoughts and emotions as I was just a few years ago. I read somewhere that your brain transforms as you age by creating new connections and breaking off old ones–or something along those lines–such that you don’t have the same mindset. I’m starting to believe that’s the case, and it’s weird that I’m cognizant of it.

I attempted to look back and list some major events that has happened, but I came up rather short. It seems that I’ve been busy with mostly work and the teaching gig I had. The teaching stuff is finally done, and I’m glad. It was more commitment than I cared for, even though I always left class content that I went and had something productive to do on my Saturdays. I feel like it helped me a lot with my career in terms of networking and experience. I think it’ll help make my future (read: impending) job search much easier. So to sum that up, class: 12 weeks of commitment on top of work.

Singular events that filled in the gaps since January include my friend’s bachelor party (which led to a stranger coming to my apartment),¬†hanging out with my coworker outside of work, visiting my friends in San Diego, having lunch with my other friend who was in town, and my my friend’s wedding reception. I suppose all that felt more substantial than it looks because of the significance they hold in my mind. It’s somewhat intensified by this foreboding sensation that change is coming.

It could be the entire month of April and all that is scheduled to happen that’s making me antsy, particularly Coachella. I’m pretty excited for that this year, particularly because I’ll be going with a different group of people, and I’m fairly certain they’ll be more rowdy than the group I went with last year.

Aside from that, work pains, annoyances with inconsiderate assholes in the form of upstairs neighbors, LA drivers, and LA people in general, all is well. Let’s hope things stay that way.

Leave a Reply

